Monday, May 16, 2022

Before They Were Beatles - Episode 09: A “Get Back” Special

Before They Were Beatles
Episode 09: A “Get Back” Special

In this episode, we take a break on our journey through the Beatles’ past and jump ahead to 1969 and the tail end of the group’s creative output as we will discuss the “Get Back” project.
We’ll be dividing the discussion into three parts:
  1. The TV documentary series
  2. The “Let It Be / Get Back” vinyl box set
  3. The “Get Back” book

The music heard in this episode includes:
  • The Quarrymen - In Spite of All The Danger 
  • Paul McCartney - Get Back (initial creation)
  • George Harrison - I Me Mine (first demo)
  • The Beatles - Come Together (intro)
  • Yoko Ono (with John Lennon and Paul McCartney) - Freak Out Jam
  • The Beatles with Billy Preston - Don’t Let Me Down - (rehersal)
  • Streetband - Toast
  • The Beatles - Let It Be (2021 Mix)
  • The Beatles - One After 909 (1969 Get Back mix)
  • George Harrison with Paul McCartney, John Lennon & Ringo Starr - All Things Must Pass (intro and first rehersal)
  • The Beatles - Across the Universe (1970 Get Back mix)

You can find full versions of the music heard in this episode in the dedicated Before They Were Beatles Podcast YouTube channel at: 

If you would like to make a comment or ask a question you can follow the podcast Twitter account at @BeforeBeatles, or email me at

You can also find copies of the original Before They Were Beatles book on Amazon in hardcover, paperback, and Kindle editions


Let us know what you think!
Email the show at

This podcast is a member of the LONGBOX CRUSADE NETWORK:
Follow on TWITTER
Subscribe to the YouTube Channel:
Subscribe to the main LBC network podcast feed on Apple Podcasts at:
Or the single podcast feed for Before They Were Beatles at:

Thank you for listening and we hope you have enjoyed this episode of Before They Were Beatles.

No comments:

Post a Comment